Altman earns national coach of the year honors

Altman earns national coach of the year honors
Oregon coach Dana Altman acknowledges players after cutting down the net after Oregon defeated UCLA 78-69 to win the championship NCAA college basketball game in the Pac-12 Conference tournament, Saturday, March 16, 2013, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/Julie Jacobson)

ATLANTA -- University of Oregon head coach Dana Altman was the recipient of the 2013 Jim Phelan Award during Saturday's awards banquet at the Final Four, recognizing the Ducks' third-year man as national coach of the year.

Altman guided the Ducks to a 28-9 overall mark and the program's first trip to the Sweet 16 since 2007, racking up the the fourth-most wins in a single season in UO history in the process. Picked to finish seventh in the preseason Pac-12 Media Poll, Oregon tied for second place in the final regular season standings and won the conference tournament, earning the Pac-12's automatic bid to the NCAA tourney.

The first Oregon head coach to post three straight 20-win seasons since the legendary Howard Hobson led the "Tall Firs" to four straight campaigns from 1935-39, Altman's 2012-13 team became just the sixth UO squad to reach an NCAA Regional Semifinal.

The 2013 Pac-12 Coach of the Year, Altman was also a finalist for the 2013 John McLendon National Coach of the Year Award.